Meditative Yoga Classes

Our Meditative Yoga classes are designed to give you the opportunity to connect your breath with gentle body movement, to feel the qi, or energy flow, in your body, and to calm your mind.

8 Limbs of Yoga

Yoga can be a practice to help you find your authentic mind through all the clutter. It can be a powerful tool to steady the body and calm the mind. The poses, or asanas, are just one branch of the eight limbs of yoga. There is so much more to the practice if you want more.

Much of yoga theory is based on the yoga sutras by Patanjali in roughly 400AD.

He outlined the 8 limbs of yoga.

Depicted from the roots up, contemplate these practices and guidelines and it opens you up to the deep states of meditation. He described the 4 stages of meditation, shown here at the top of the tree, as something that happens to you when the conditions are right. When we practice yoga in this way, we are simply creating the container within us to allow meditative states to happen. This type of practice is beautiful. It can be full of self-awareness and compassion for self and others. 

7. Dhyana: Spontaneous meditation. Happens to you.

8. Samadhi: Bliss. Oneness.

Happens to you.

5. Pratyahara: Withdraw from senses.


Bring attention inward.

4. Pranayama: Breath practices.


Practice this to access the prana, or breath/energy flow.


5 Yamas

5 Niyamas






6. Dharana: Concentration and flow.


Maintain a sustained focus.

3. Asanas: Body Poses, movement.


Prepare the body

1. Yamas: Boundaries or restraints. To avoid common mind traps, check in with your attitudes toward others. 

To create space for clarity,

contemplate these things.

2. Niyamas: How to engage, follow, observe,

and notice. Look inward.

To hold the container for your spiritual awareness, practice these things.

5 Yamas:

1. Aparigraha: Practice non-attachment, let go

2. Ahimsa: Practice non-harming of yourself and others

3. Asteya: Do not steal.

4. Satya: Live and speak your truth

5. Brahmacharya: Find the conservation of your energy. 

5 Niymas:

1. Saucha: Orderliness and cleanliness

2. Santosha: Contentment

3. Tapas: Effort, discipline

4. Svadyada: Self study

5. Ishvarapranidhana: Surrender to the divine


Group Meditation

Meditation Meet up March 2020.jpg

Health Discovery Acupuncture & Yoga

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • yelp 2
  • meetupfullres2


Instagram logo.jpg
Twitter logo.jpg


Health Discovery Acupuncture & Yoga © 2019 All rights reserved.